DLYC is closed for the 2015 season!


The 75th anniversary season of DLYC has come to a close.

We had a wonderful year of special memories including our 75th anniversary gala, youth programs, tiki parties, auxiliary events, outdoor movie night, chili-cookbook, fish boil, steak fry, sailing and the regatta and the final shipwreck party.

Thank you to all of our anniversary year sponsors and to the members and DLYC employees who served us so well this past summer. We hope to see many of you through the winter and back at the club in late April.

Until then…


2016 Election Results

75th logo for website

DLYC members approved the proposed bylaw revisions.

Elected to the 2016 Board of Governors:

Tom Muldary, Commodore

Mike Apling, Vice Commodore

Doug Tagsold, Rear Commodore

Irma David, Treasurer

Mike Clark, Recording Secretary

Tom Love, Laura Schaedler, and Shelley Shepherd were elected to the Board of Governors for the 2016/2017 terms. Congratulations to all!

August September Newsletter

August/September Newsletter

To view or print our August/September newletter, click HERE.


Entertainment for 2015

Schedule for 2015 (dates subject to change)

Friday, April 24 Opening Weekend – Leisure Machine

Friday, May 1 Act III

Saturday, May 2 Derby Day Party TNT

Friday, May 8 Last Nation

Sunday, May 10 Mother’s Day

Friday, May 15 Live Radio Remote with WLEN

Friday, May 15 Metros

Sunday, May 17 Community Celebration Open House (1pm to 4pm)

Friday, May 22 Wynwood

Saturday, May 23 Gary Z DJ

Friday, May 29 Airtight

Friday, June 5 Flyte

Saturday, June 6 Flyte “Unplugged”

Sunday, June 7 Pot Luck Picnic

Friday, June 12 Leisure Machine

Friday, June 19 Act III

Sunday, June 21 Father’s Day

Thursday, June 25 Auxiliary Luncheon – Fashion Show

Friday, June 26 Gary Z DJ

Saturday, June 27 Alias

Thursday, July 2 Bill E Lewis

Friday, July 3 Paragon

Saturday, July 4 Gary Z DJ

Friday, July 10 Alias

Saturday, July 11 Young Members Party

Thursday, July 16 Aux Lunch – Patrone’s

Friday, July 17 Flyte

Saturday, July 18 Tiki Party

Friday, July 24 Chris Temple

Saturday, July 25 White Diamond 75th Anniversary Gala Auxiliary Dinner Dance (Black Tie Optional) – Still Rain

Friday, July 31 Leisure Machine

Thursday, August 6 Aux – Ladies Night Out

Friday, August 7 Alias

Saturday, August 8 Tiki Party

Saturday, August 8 – DLYC Movie on the Lawn – Disney Pixar film”UP”

Sunday, August 9 Family Day

Friday, August 14 Airtight

Saturday, August 15 DLYC Auction

Friday, August 21 Flyte

Saturday, August 22 Flyte “Unplugged”

Friday, August 28 Wynwood

Saturday, August 29 Show Your Colors Party TNT Paragon

Saturday, September 4 Alias

Saturday, September 5 Chris Temple

Friday, September 11 Metros

Sunday, September 13 Annual Meeting

Friday, September 18 Sassy

Saturday, September 19 Chili Cook-Off & Regatta Seize the Day

Friday, September 25 Chris Temple

Saturday, September 26 Shipwreck Party – Showdown

Book Club List for 2015

2015 Book List






September 28 – The All-Girl Filling Station’s Last Reunion, by Fannie Flagg; – 369 pages; a new comic mystery novel about two women who are forced to re-imagine who they are – spanning decades and generations.

October 26 – The 19th Wife, by David Ebershoff – 530 pages; In 1875, Ann Eliza Young has recently separated from her powerful husband, Brigham Young, leader of the Mormon Church, and expelled and an outcast, embarks on a crusade to end polygamy in the USA. A family’s polygamous history is revealed, including how a young woman became a plural wife. The story intertwines with that of a modern day young man, thrown out of his fundamentalist sect, searching for the truth behind his father’s death.

Additional Books – Just missed the cut!

Elmer Gantry, by Sinclair Lewis

Best selling book of 1927

The Boys in the Boat By Daniel James Brown

The Kitchen House By Kathleen Grisson

A gripping tale of the south during the days of slavery

Once We Were Brothers by Ronald Balson 2013

The story of 2 boys who find themselves on the opposite side of the Holocaust.

Bossy Pants, by Tina Fey


The Last Lecture, Randy Pausch

Secret of Nightingale Palace by Dana Sachs

Fleet News


JUNE – 2015

All Clubs boats have been launched and are available for this summer’s sailing classes.  Geoff Moehl assisted by Doug Tagold will first conduct a training class for the trainers, then begin classes for our youth.  The weather may give us some problems at the start.  Rain and thunderstorms are forecast for this entire first week.

May 31st:  The first “Stay-at-Home” Series races were cancelled due to weather.  Our sailors are hardy souls, but no one was willing to brave 58 degrees, misty rain, and 25 knots of wind.

Jun 7th:  The “Summer” series races began this day.  The wind proved to be challenging with gusts to near 20 knots, but it did not stop Doug Tagsold from putting in the best performance with two first place finishes in 3 races.  Ryan Mabie with his sister and girlfriend as crew came in a close second with three second place finishes.  Following these races, the Fleet Awards for the 2014 Season were presented.  The awards and the recipients are listed on the following page.

Jun 14th:  In this second entry of the “Summer” series, Geoff Moehl finished his first race of this season placing first.  He only had one crewmember instead of the normal two and it was this only crewmember’s first time ever on a Lightning.  Also, Geoff was recovering from a leg injury he suffered on the previous weekend when he fell off the dock while servicing the club Lightning.

Bill Rogge is still unable to participate in any races since he injured his leg in a fall during the Spring.  He plans to participate in the 4th of July series.  We look forward to his return then.

Tom Love

Fleet Captain

2014 DLYC Sailing Awards

Memorial Day Series – Bill Rogge

Fourth of July Series – Ryan Mabie

Stay at Home Series 1st place – Tom Love

Captain Series – Tom Love 

Commodore Series- Jeff Clemes with Granddaughter Charlotte 

Labor Day Series – Dave Laidlaw 

Fleet ChampionDoug Tagsold 

Fleet Champion Runner Up – Jeff Clemes 

Forrest Hauck Regatta Award – Dave Laidlaw 

DLYC Auxiliary Female Sailor Award - Debbie David 

Board of Governor’s Award – Greg Pope 

Sportsmanship Award – Doug Tagsold 

Best Crew- Steve Cantrell 

Novice AwardIrma David 

Most Improved – Ryan Mabie 

Chris Tibbs First Mate Award – Kathy Love 

Jack Beal Participation Award- Doug Tagsold 

Hall of Fame Race – Merrill Bales  (other competitors were Jim Furnamberg, Pete Paullin, and George Teller)


Powered by WordPress | Frame Designed by: Hosted Exchange | Thanks to MS SharePoint Hosting, Hosted Desktop and Project Server Hostinggoogle-site-verification: google87c34d8225adc7fa.html